It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Asperger's Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2010, 07:19 PM   #1
(female)

Rebecca Hawkins HB User
Encopresis and Aspergers

I am new to this board and wish to find anwers to my son's dilemna. He is 7 yrs. old and has Aspergers, with recurrent encopresis and constant bed wetting. I want to know if there are other parents out there that have had any success with Miralax, and/or if there are other recommendations? Also any advice on the wetting? He will do this in public and says he doesn't even feel when he's wet! He also walks around with stool in his underwear as though he is completely unaware of it.

Old 06-07-2010, 04:02 AM   #2
(female)

penny70 HB User
Re: Encopresis and Aspergers

Hi Rebecca,
I am a child and family social worker and occasionally see children with Aspergers. I wonder if it would be helpful to see someone who could do an evaluation of your son and help him with his situation. Seeing someone who works with kids who fall within the Autism Spectrum might be helpful. Has he had a thorough check up at the pediatricians? Good luck to you.
Penny

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-08-2010, 10:07 PM   #3
(female)

Rebecca Hawkins HB User

Thank you for your reply Penny. Yes we've seen his pediatrician and he prescribed Miralax. I haven't had much success tho. I need friends who have children with this problem so I have a support group. I am struggling to cope and have MANY distractions in doing so because I have 3 other young children at home and one who has defiance issues. Both of the special needs children I have are adopted. I didn't know I could have my own children and now have 4 of them!!!! I appreciate any response/support I can get....my husband and I are in over our heads. thanks-

Old 06-12-2010, 04:58 PM   #4
(female)

penny70 HB User

Hi Rebecca,