It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Asperger's Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2012, 03:34 PM   #1
(female)

mrstotten HB User
Does my 6 year old have Aspergers, Would love some opinions

Hi All,

This is my first time posting and I would love some opinions.

My son turned six in December there, he is a happy healthy wee boy for the most part. He was born 16 weeks premature and due to ROP has visual problems (prescription is -13 in both eyes)

He is a really active little boy, never sits still, even when watching TV he prefers to stand. He can sometimes be badly behaved, not hitting or hurting anyone, just inability to focus and pay attention. He is bad at reading social cues and does not meet your eye when speaking. He is really bright with a phenomenal memory and the ability to understand complex ideas. He is a great reader, great at Maths but a poor writer. As a child he had a hard time distinguishing fantasy with reality he would insist on being called Ben 10 for example, once this was explained to him he stopped. He loves certain things, sleeps with the same teddy, but can have his routines changed to an extent. He is very affectionate and will always cuddle and tell you he loves you unprompted and has a lot of empathy.

He plays with other kids but doesn't seem to need to, he can be very stubborn about getting his own way. He has an american accent and has had this since he started speaking, his language skills are excellent. He is very sensitive to loud noises and explains tastes as feeling (if he eats something spicy he will describe it as sore on my tongue) He gets very attached to things and is very resistant to those changing, (he actually burst into tears when my mum painted her kitchen walls)