It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Asperger's Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-10-2012, 04:36 AM   #1
(female)

mintchocolate90 HB User
Dating

Hi there,

I'm a college student who has, within the past few months, began seeing somebody with Asperger's. He's never visibly socially awkward, doesn't say anything particularly peculiar, and is incredibly affectionate--in fact, I'm one of the only people who has any idea that he has AS (including his friends). Because of these reasons, I actually was really surprised when he told me since I had had friends in high school with AS and even though they were all really great and fun, they definitely seemed much more awkward socially than he ever has. He was slow at first to get close to me, but we've become extremely close and I really, truly adore him. He's sweet, talented, intelligent, and has never so much as raised his voice to me--overall, he's just an excellent partner.

The only trouble is that I don't know how to handle when he's upset. I have pretty bad anxiety myself and therefore get panic attacks frequently, but I've rarely ever been on the other side of the crying and shaking. He occasionally gets really sad and seems to be upset by himself being upset, which is troubling since of course I would never want him to feel embarrassed by this (especially considering how often I cry myself...), but I don't know how to comfort him better than to hold him.