It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Asperger's Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-11-2013, 12:17 AM   #1
(female)

anonyme221 HB User
Mild AS?

Hey everyone. This is my first time posting, and I'm wondering if I might have AS and debating whether or not to seek a professional diagnosis. For the record, I'm a medical student, so I've learned about AS in school and a couple of my friends and I have noticed that the general traits and symptoms fit me to a tee (or, if not now, certainly did when I was a child).

A bit of history:
I had no issues whatsoever with language development (started speaking in full, grammatically correct sentences at the age of 9 months and currently speak 4 languages). I could read chapter books by the end of kindergarten and had a pretty substantial vocabulary as a kid. I do not, nor have I ever, however, struggled with abstract concepts or taken everything literally. I've always understood things like metaphors, idioms, and figures of speech, and really enjoy them.

As a child I did, however, have a very narrow window of subjects that interested me. My teachers were constantly upset that the only books I cared to read were Calvin and Hobbes comics, biographies of Helen Keller, and the Harry Potter series. As I got into middle school I managed to branch out and now don't mind picking up new titles, but as a kid those were some pretty monumental struggles.