It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Asthma Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2005, 04:12 PM   #1
(female)

sassykitty HB User
Should I be on daily meds?

So glad I found this board I'm new to this asthma thing and really don't know what to expect. A little history - OK I know I have allergies, but my allergy testing was done in my teens, now I'm 41. I have always been allergic to cats, sniffling & sneezing kind of allergies, which I found tolerable. In mid summer I got a kitty and the sniffling & sneezing started - I loved having a cat so much that I wanted another one - brought the 2nd one home and the asthma symptoms started. After 6 weeks of mild symptoms, tight chest and shortness of breath, I broke down and went to the doctor. He at first said diagnosis was asthma, gave me a Medrol pack and albuterol inhaler, wow after a couple of days I felt like a new person. I returned to the doctor after finishing the Medrol pack and he said I had asthmatic bronchitis. About a month later I got a cold and it went to my chest, returned to the doctor got another Medrol pack, he said asthmatic bronchitis again, but he didn't have me come back when I finished it this time. So now I don't feel as bad as the 2 times I went to the doctor, but I do have mild symptoms (tight chest and short breath) just about every day. I use the albuterol when I get up in the morning and before I go to bed, with using it 2x a day I feel fine. I'm wondering though if I should be using it this much or if I should be using something else? My symptoms are mild but I think I stress out over it which makes it worse.

I know I'm crazy for keeping the cats. You don't know what they have done for me though, before I got them I really think I was depressed, I am so much happier now. But in the back of my mind every day I think they are killing me.