It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Asthma Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2008, 11:49 PM   #1
(female)

Monkey7935 HB User
Exclamation Asthma And Bronchitis

I woke up this morning in a full blown attack, even was vomiting from coughing to hard. Per doctor instructions I went to the ER. It turns out all my coughing I've had all along is acute bronchitis. Has anyone ever had this before? Does it normally trigger asthma attacks? It's my first time for bronchitis ever, and I'm not sure on what to really do nor understand it all. Does anyone have any tips to nip both my asthma and acute bronchitis in the tush?

Old 02-23-2008, 06:23 AM   #2
(female)

sensitivesoul8 HB User
Re: Asthma And Bronchitis

Bronchitis can definitely cause an attack. That's what happened to me a few weeks ago. Usually they will give you an antibiotic, in addition to a burst of steroids to decrease the inflammation. It takes a few weeks to recover, unfortunately. Even when your body is feeling better, the cough will probably linger for a little while longer. It sucks! I hope you feel better soon!!!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-23-2008, 02:04 PM   #3
(female)

Monkey7935 HB User

Thanks for the help. Do you know if its contagious? I got kids to worry about. You said it takes a couple weeks, gosh I'm in this forever then. I'm also a diabetic, and it takes diabetics longer to kick something in the system out. They gave me amoxicillin. Any doctor hates me when it comes time to put me on antibiotics. I'm allergic to most of them. There are only two we know of I can take so far lol... amoxicillin and smz (the septra one). I have had trouble with my asthma for a couple weeks here, so I am already on prednisone, promethizine dm syrup, cough drops, nebulizer 4 times a day and more if needed, and something called mucinx. Did you get a pharmacy with it too? I feel like I am lol.