It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Asthma Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2008, 10:45 PM   #1
(female)

Sims2 HB User
Question Smoke on Clothes and a New Employee - Advice Needed

I work as a graphic designer and we just hired someone to help me and technically I am her supervisor. When she came in to interview she did not smell of cigarette smoke but today was her first day and she did. The smell on her clothes was so faint that no one else could smell it except me. I have had asthma for about 15 years now. It was never very bad until I got pneumonia about 4 years ago. Since then it has gotten increasingly worse. Last year my doctor put me on Advair and I went from 12-16 asthma attacks a day and getting one cold upon another to very controlled asthma and very rare asthma attacks. I credit this change to the Advair and avoiding second hand smoke including having to leave places with people whose clothes smell like smoke.

I guess what I'm wondering about is what I can ask of this new employee as far as her smoking goes? She has to sit about 8 feet away from me and today I had allergy like symptoms including itchy eyes and nose along with that heavy feeling in my lungs that is a sign an asthma attack is coming and she was only there 3 hours. There will be days she will be working 8 hours along side me. My boss actually had to change his cologne because it bothered my asthma and that was before it was bad but I know quiting smoking is a lot more difficult than that. She did say she wanted to quit but I didn't get into if this is something she was actively working on. I know if she goes outside for a smoke break and comes back in I will have an attack. What is reasonable for me? Has anyone else had to deal with a similar situation? I live in Wisconsin if that makes any difference. I'd appreciate any help you can offer.

Sponsors Lightbulb