It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Asthma Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2008, 09:28 AM   #1
(female)

OceanBreeze0258 HB User
Asthma Attacks

I understand that with asthma comes asthma attacks. Wheezing, dry cough, very tight chest, chest pressure, shortness of breath, and exhasution. But I also have dizziness, and sometimes feel as though I might pass out. I have low blood pressure and know what it feels like to pass out, it is scarry and it makes my panic even more when I am having an attack like this. My question is, is the dizziness normal? Or is something else wrong too. I know the panic doesn;t help but i only tend to panic when I already feel dizzy. Thanks in advance far any help.

Old 05-28-2008, 12:00 PM   #2
(female)

snowdrift HB User
Re: Asthma Attacks

I'm pretty new to asthma, but yes, most of the asthma attacks I've had over the past several months came with a lot of dizziness. For a while, before I got on meds, I was having very frequent attacks and the dizziness didn't really go away between them.

It seems logical too, that if you're not getting enough oxygen, may have some CO2 building up, and are working to exhaustion to breathe, that dizziness would likely result.

Sometimes too, it's from the meds. I don't use a nebulizer at home, so each time I've used one was in a fairly acute episode, and the albuterol (and in one case pirtubetol (sp?) seemed to contribute to the dizziness.