It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Asthma Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2011, 10:38 PM   #1
(female)

Anneelise HB User
Hope for Air Hunger, Anxiety, Depression!

Hi everyone. I wanted to post a message for any of you who have, or who are, suffering from air hunger (inability to take a deep breath), and resulting anxiety/depression. This summer, during the awful heat wave, I had a really tough time taking a deep breath. I had chest tightness, cough, and panic (since I couldn't breath and thought my life was in danger). I work in a hospital, and I know too much . I was worried that I might be having heart trouble, a lung blood clot, who knows. I ended up in the ER twice this summer (in the middle of the night, alone, UGH). After many tests, all to make sure my heart and lungs were ok (and they were), and also after a pulmonary function test (to see if I had asthma (I didn't), the doctor told me that I had anxiety.

Well, I'm a fairly normal person, so I didn't connect with the "anxiety" diagnosis. Sure, when I couldn't take a deep breath, anxiety really kicked in. So did waves of depression sometime, which wasn't like me. I was dissatisfied with the doctor's diagnosis. Was I going to begin a life of taking xanax, seeing a psychiatrist, etc? I wasn't sure I wanted to go that route.

So, I started reading, googling, asking questions. I found that the inability to take a deep breath is sometimes caused by physical reasons other than the heart and lungs. Sometimes a person with this problem is stressed, sure--but sometimes they are hypothyroid. Sometimes they are low on magnesium, or there's a hormone inbalance. Sometimes their adrenal glands are exhausted.