It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autism Spectrum Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-03-2004, 07:34 AM   #1
(female)

el_9_el HB User
Autistic vs. Quirky, Eccentric, Unique, Obsessive

I'm 20 years old and seem to have some symptoms of autism. I've never said so explicitly. My mum has commented on some of my habits and their similarity to those of an autistic child, but I'm positive she doesn't believe I HAVE autism.

It seems to me that everyone has varying degress of autistic behaviours. So what exactly is it that defines the condition?

I've always received good grades in school (being branded as "gifted" when tested in early schooling and receiving a score of 99.85 for my final highschool exam). I can become absorbed by maths and also have a fascination with science. I love words too.
I'm not good with physical contact - I don't like it particularly. It makes me nervous. I don't hug or kiss friends or family. I don't like people getting too close (physically or emotionally).
I like to avoid cracks in the pavement and I have an illogical idea of what is "good luck" to stand on, and what is "bad luck" eg. white line is good luck, but yellow is bad luck.
I prefer different foods not to touch one another on my plate and I like to eat all of one thing, before consuming any of the next. eg. I'll eat all of my peas, followed by all of my carrot, followed by my fillet of steak, followed by my mashed potato (usually working from least preferred, to most liked food).
I have a fascination for collections of things. As a child, I loved having huge bags of colourful marbles that I could order and sort depending on size and colour etc. I loved collections of gemstones, stamps, toys - anything that i could sort.