It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autism Spectrum Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-19-2005, 11:58 PM   #1

caliny222 HB User
Unhappy Please Help: My poor parents & autistic 16 year old brother....

How is everyone tonight?! Happy Father's day, by the way....

This is what's happening..and each day..it's tearing me apart. I just moved back home from college (I graduated last Saturday) and I have a great home - two great hard working dedicated parents and a 20 year old sister and a 16 year old brother. My brother is autistic and it's gotten worse as the years went by. I've been away from home for 4 years at college so I guess I'm not used to all this. It hurts to see all this pain, stress and hurt my parents go through every single day and night of their lives. I knew his case was bad...but wow...it's gotten to the point where it's unbearable and unbelievable.

I remember when he used to hurt himself - break windows with his head, tear away at his skin until his flesh was bloody, twist his fingers until I see it actually hurting him...it's almost like he's possessed in some way. He still does some of those but his habits kindof mixes. It's so weird how precise he is with what he does. We can't understand him. He doesn't talk and he doesn't communicate...we can only feed him to make him happy. We've spent hundreds of thousands of dollars taking him to specialized schools, doctors...medications....NOTHING works. He snaps out of medication and continues breaking things. He's so violent...that my grandparents are afraid to go near him because one time he had my grandmother by the hair and wouldnt let her while trying to poke her eyes.....It's truly sad.