It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autism Spectrum Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2006, 10:37 AM   #1
(female)

lisamax HB User
Does this sound like an Autism Spectrum Disorder?

I am a teacher, and I have a very, very, special nephew who will be 6 years old in a couple of weeks. He and I have a special bond. Since he was about 2, I felt there was something not quite right. I have worked with mildly autistic children in the past, and he seems to have some of the symptoms.

For example, he used to be very routine driven (i.e. had to eat tapioca pudding while sitting in the blue rocking chair, hated new clothes, he still has to stick his finger in a cup of soda to make the fizz go down, etc.... ), but he seems to have outgrown some of that. Also, his speech was very delayed, and it is still very inadequate. However, he likes to initiate "conversations". These conversations are always limited to what he wants to talk about (usually Star Wars or Dragonball Z!!) If I try to talk about something else, he will interrupt me and continue with his topic of discussion. He never talks about someone else's interests.Also, if he is nervous, scared, or anxious he talks in unusual voices, if he talks at all. Sometimes he just growls like a dog or hisses like a cat. He also uses his hand like a puppet when he is stressed. In addition, I am concerned with the fact he exhibits no curiosity. He never asks, 'why?' Most little kids can drive you crazy with that question! He just doesn't seem interested. Another point of concern is when he is hurt or upset he usually hides, and he becomes rigid when you try to comfort him.