It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autism Spectrum Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-23-2006, 07:37 AM   #1
(female)

EBoegel HB User
New to Autism

Good morning,
My daughter, Kate (3 yrs), was diagnosed this past week with Autism. Since I am completely new to this, I was hoping to get some specific information. Did you all get services through your school districts? (We live in Northern California if anyone has that in common with us.) What books did you read that were really helpful? And I'd also like to know your time constraints; is it helpful to be at home with your autistic child or did you stay at work/school? I was planning to go back to school this fall but am wondering if that is wise. And finally, any experiences or other info that might be helpful. I really appreciate it. We are still reeling a bit.
Thank you,
Elizabeth

Old 07-23-2006, 03:38 PM   #2
Inactive

mommaboyz HB User
Re: New to Autism

Hello and welcome here. Im sorry to here of your recent dx. At 3 yrs old you would be albo to get help from the school district. I would do a search on early intervention in your area and see what you come up with. There be be some classes in your area that deal with autism. The sooner you can get your daughter help the better off she will be honestly. Therapy has given my son a chance at life I believe. Without it he would be a different child. As far as books go Ive only rad a few of them the best one for me was Evidence of harm by David Kirby. If you go to the book store there or several good ones there. Good luck. and if you need to ask some more questions feel free. I think I answered them all.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-23-2006, 08:24 PM   #3
(female)

EBoegel HB User

Thanks for the info.