It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autism Spectrum Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-06-2006, 07:38 PM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

9CatMom HB User
Education-Help or Hindrance?

I titled this post this way because I am wondering why I went to school so long. I have a Master's in English, and am beginning to think I might have done better in life if I had just been content to finish high school or just obtained a basic Bachelor's degree. That extra education didn't really do me much good and some of it might have even done harm. Most of the stuff I was taught and read in school went contrary to my basic philosophy of life. Looking back, I had very few joyous experiences in college. Between coping with roommates (with a few exceptions), the depressing things I read, and going through the psychological "system" again after four years of repreive in high school, I was miserable, in retrospect. I loved school and academics growing up, and still love reading and seeking knowledge of all kinds, but I'm sick of schooling. If I had to do it again, I'd avail myself of the Internet.

Sometimes I think those years would have been better spent working and catching up on things I never did growing up, like learning to drive and gaining other important skills. Hopefully, it isn't too late but, at almost 42, I find myself getting less and less patient with other drivers on the road and less desirous to risk life and limb from the actions of some of the really irresponsible drivers on the road in my town.