It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autism Spectrum Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-30-2006, 03:58 PM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

datgrlstef HB User
Fragile X Syndrome

I'm fairly new to the Autism forum.. my 3 yr old was just diagnosed a few days ago, after about a year of home-based therapy, and now about 3 weeks of developmentally delayed preschool. I knew from fairly early on something wasn't quite right. I had his hearing tested when he was about 18 months, and it was normal. However, he rarely ever looked at me when I called his name. There was not a whole lot of eye contact, and at age 2, he said about 5 words- none of which were mommy or daddy (or anything even simliar). His pediatrician seemed fairly confident that he did not have Autism, but because of my concerns, referred me to my state's program for children 0-3 with developmental delays.

When the psychologist gave me the results of her evaluation, she informed me that I might ask the pediatrician to have my son tested for Fragile X Syndrome. I had never heard of it before, but doing a search for Fragile X online came up with the foundation.. which has some startling information.

"Fragile X syndrome is the most common inherited cause of mental impairment. The syndrome occurs in approximately 1 in 3600 males and 1 in 4000 to 6000 females.

*For between 2% and 6% of all children diagnosed with autism, the cause is the Fragile X gene mutation.

*Approximately one-third of all children diagnosed with fragile X syndrome also have autism.

*Fragile X syndrome is the most common known single gene cause of autism."