It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autism Spectrum Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-20-2006, 09:46 PM   #1
(female)

romansmom HB User
Does anyone have autistic child that is also gifted? Interested in details.

Hi I am new to board. I have started 1 other topic a couple weeks ago but have another question, I hope you all dont mind me starting another thread. I live in Central Ohio and my son is 3 1/2 years old. He was diagnosed last Jan/06. He started in OT, PT and speech last fall because he wasnt talking and had some other signs of Autism. He doesnt communicate with words, he might lead us around to show us what he wants, and he repeats things he hears, memorizes whole cartoon episodes, etc. Since he was 2 can say all his numbers and count to 100...now he can write all letters, write his numbers to 100, beginning addtion, and has started reading a few books with 1 sentance on each page. He draws very well and loves music of all kinds. He can do pre-k and kindergarten workbooks I buy him at the store and he knows how to tell time, at least on the hour and half hour. His music teacher thinks he does better than most kids his age on the piano...he sometimes sounds out parts of twinkle twinkle little start by himself on his toy piano at home. Some of his teachers and therapists have used the word gifted to me about him (not officially, just in conversation) and I just was wondering how smart does a child have to be before he is considered gifted and how is this tested. He does have an appt. in Jan with a psychologist. Nobody has ever even told me if he was high functioning for sure, we just all assume it that is one of the things I asked in my other thread about if it was necessary to see a psychologist. I would just like all these things spelled out for me...it seems most other parents seems to know if their child is high or low functioning, etc. I just don't