It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autism Spectrum Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2006, 04:21 PM   #1
(female)

julie2006 HB User
Unhappy my son is extremely violent

Hi i am new to all this, and i am at end of my tether. My son aged 15yrs was diagnosed with High Functioning Autism on 1 August 2006. I have known all his life there was something different about him, yet medical professionals wouldnt help. Once he went into Senior school, things got worse.he refused school, was very down etc etc....finally he was referred to local hospital who took a year to diagnose him..
Proble, i have now is that he is extremely violent, abusive etc....he has caused thousands pounds worth damage to house.......destroyed his bedroom..he sleeps on matress on floor as he used his bed as a weapon.....he now uses other items in his room to throw at anyone who goes near him. Today was last straw....he attacked me!!! Luckily my oldest son was in the house and had to drag him off me. I also have 2 daughters ages 2 and 11......i now fear for their safety as son with autism keeps saying he wishes they were dead......
Any ideas on how to deal with this sort of behaviour......
We have tried routines etc, but son just keeps breaking them.
At the moment he is on the lowest dose of Risperadone (think that how it spelt) but it hasnt done anything to help him.
Any ideas warmly welcome.

Old 10-25-2006, 07:59 AM   #2
(female)

FL-Mom HB User
Re: my son is extremely violent