It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autism Spectrum Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2007, 04:20 PM   #1
(female)

tammy01 HB User
Homeschooling

I have been homeschooling my son for almost three months now. When we started he couldn't trace anything. Had trouble holding any kind of writing instrument. Didn't know any letters or numbers or colors.
Now he can hold his writing utensil, trace shapes without any hand over hand, do connect the dots by number no hand over hand just me pointing where to start and what number to go to next. I say the number as I point to it. He can paint pictures using a brush, trace letters with just a little guidance and write the letter A with a little help.
He is nonverbal, and his understanding and following directions was really poor, now his understanding and following directions has improved a great deal. His attention span has increased and he his able to focus and apply himself to his work better
I am so proud of my son.

Old 03-21-2007, 07:07 PM   #2
Veteran
(male)

firenice HB User
Re: Homeschooling

Congragulations. You son is fortunate you have been able to take the time to spend with him. I suspect that ASD children could progress as yours has if they only had 1:1 support, which, of course, they don't. Keep up the good work!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-26-2007, 06:20 AM   #3
Veteran
(female)

Picali HB User

Hi Tammy

You should be proud of yourself, too! Congratulations on what you have achieved together - it's so heart-warming when all of that hard work starts to yield results.

I'm really happy for you and hope you both continue to do so well - keep us posted!

x

Old 03-26-2007, 09:34 AM   #4
Veteran
(female)

PinkPiglet HB User

That's wonderful!! It's amazing just how much can happen when you work one on one.