It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autism Spectrum Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-15-2007, 11:50 PM   #1
(female)

rach33 HB User
Problems with Christmas & Birthdays; bad behavior due to anxiety

I am new to the Aspergers realm, my 9 yo son was diagnosed last year, but I always knew something was "different"; he also has a defiance thing, which is really hard to deal with. He is having a hard time at school, and I want him to fit in so badly. I never had a hard time with fitting in and always paid attention to the kids who didn’t and was extra nice to them and protected them. I am heart broken over my son's inability to socialize, and to "conform" to what is the "norm". He has one teacher that just refuses to learn anything about Asperger’s-she is so ignorant. We provided her with pamphlets on it, and ways to help herself and everyone else (cuz we all know how if one thing goes bad-everything goes bad) but she didn’t read them. Any way he has now been suspended from school, which I believe is a huge misunderstanding on his part, and the teachers.

His behavior always gets worse during the holidays and before his birthday; the defiance and the maligning behavior carries over to all aspects of his life. I feel so bad for him, it’s like he is trapped in a fortress with all these walls that he does not know how to break thru, and he knows things are going badly so he then behaves badly, and cannot stop himself. He told us once when we asked him why he did these things; he said "my brain just tells me to".