It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autism Spectrum Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-18-2008, 09:53 AM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

claflamme HB User
New here and result of evaluation In

I am new on this board, My 4 1/2 yr old daughter had a full eval. in may and it took a while but we finally got all the results back.
It shows that she has selective mutism (that we knew) and PDD-NOS.

I have been trying to find resourses in my area in Ma. to find the help for her they suggested but no luck yet. Any ideas?
And also Is PDD-NOS like Autism or on eof the autism disorders? I think.
I am new to this. We knew something was going on but we just were not too sure what. But I read a little about it and it does fit her.
Thanks if anyone can help.

Old 07-18-2008, 12:04 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

GatsbyLuvr1920 HB UserGatsbyLuvr1920 HB UserGatsbyLuvr1920 HB User
Re: New here and result of evaluation In

PDD-NOS is also known as "atypical autism." It is the diagnosis given to an individual when they fit some criteria of autism but not all. For example, the individual may have problems in communication and the social realm but not fit the third autistic criterion of repetitive/stereotyped behaviors. PDD-NOS is usually considered to be the most varied presentation of the Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASDs). Some PDD-NOS children will resemble those with Kanner's (classic) autism; others will resemble those with Asperger's Syndrome. The difference is in the amount and severity of the symptoms that the person displays, so an Asperger's-type PDD-NOS child may have all of the symptoms of AS except for the hallmark symptom of "special interests"/an obsessive fixation in a specific topic. Hope this helped!
-GatsbyLuvr1920-

Last edited by GatsbyLuvr1920; 07-18-2008 at 12:06 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-30-2008, 05:54 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

claflamme HB User