It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autism Spectrum Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-10-2009, 10:29 AM   #1
Veteran
(male)

Exegesis HB UserExegesis HB User
Questions about schooling

Greetings,

This is my first time posting in this forum. We have a 9 year old boy that has been diagnosed as Aperger's/High functioning Autistic. We kept him out of school until he was 6 because we didn't feel he was ready yet. He is quite intelligent, but lacks some of the social skills we are all familiar with. He is quite hyper focused on the things he is interested in, but has certain fixations and obsessions that act as distractions to him

Also, he is very auditory, and finds sounds interesting. He seems to have a compulsive need to make noises, and this is difficult for him since he has been mainstreamed at school, although he has some therapy providers at school (OT etc.). He has a great teacher who understands him and has had him now for 2 years. Lately, this year, he has been having problems with his noise making and so is singled out for "time outs". He seems to have reached a breaking point and feels as though he is a "freak" and the only one that ever gets in trouble. He feels humiliated.

The school has for the first time asked if we have considered medication. My question is, has anyone else had experience dealing with the schools? What medications have you tried? They seem to want to try an ADD type med, but I think that he isn't really ADD, but merely bored with the program. When something catches his interest, he'll forget to eat. I am less inclined to try meds then my wife is, and so we are at a little bit of an impasse. I was just hoping for some input from you all.

Thanks in advance,

Brenden.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-10-2009, 08:19 PM   #2
(female)

Mira11 HB User
Re: Questions about schooling