It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autism Spectrum Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-25-2009, 09:44 AM   #1
(female)

Luv U Mommy HB User
Sleep disorders

Hi, I am new to this message board. My son is 31/2 now and was recently diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder. His is in ABA therapy now which we call school for him. He is doing fantastic. He is going to be starting speech therapy soon and I found a daycare that helps kids with Autism.

So, feeling that we had a good grasp on the situation my son has in the past 6 months started a pattern of not wanting to go to his bed to sleep.
If he is asleep when he goes up he wakes up at around 2 o'clock in the morning and won't stay in bed. I end up sleeping with him on the sofa. Now if he is asleep on the sofa he won't even let us take him up to bed. He cries and fights us from doing it.

I am reading that melatonin helps. Anyone out there tried this? If it works to get a more structured sleep for my son I am going to ask his padeatrician about it.

Help!

Luv U Mommy

Old 09-25-2009, 04:00 PM   #2
(male)

Merenwenrago HB User
Re: Sleep disorders

sounds like he got accustomed to the sofa due to aspergers having their daily routines. Cause you breaking his routine hes getting stressed and starts to cry and with that said he wouldnt sleep anywhere else besides on the sofa.

Melatonin helps with sleep patterns and vitamins are also good.

What time you normally put him to bed? Also try get him to his bed before he falls asleep on the sofa so it enforces that he must sleep in his bed probably take few nights for him to get accustomed to his bed.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-26-2009, 12:50 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

kehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB User