It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autism Spectrum Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-11-2010, 05:57 PM   #1
(female)

Lesa1211 HB User
Picking a school

Hello, Im new to the message board. My sone is 4 and has Autism. He is graduating preschool this year and i have yet to find a school for him that I feel comfortable with. He needs a smaller classroom with more 1 on 1, rather than a typical "classroom". I live in Pittsburgh PA. Any suggestion would be greattly appreciated.

Old 04-11-2010, 11:50 PM   #2
(female)

Mira11 HB User
Re: Picking a school

Hi - Your local school district has an obligation to find an appropriate classroom for him. Contact the director of special ed and explain that you want a class for your son for the next school year.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-13-2010, 01:34 PM   #3
(female)

mscat40 HB Usermscat40 HB Usermscat40 HB Usermscat40 HB Usermscat40 HB Usermscat40 HB Usermscat40 HB Usermscat40 HB Usermscat40 HB Usermscat40 HB Usermscat40 HB User

Request an IEP for everybody who is involved in your child;s learning . The school has an obligation to place your son in a classroom with the least restrictive environment .

Old 04-14-2010, 07:04 AM   #4
(female)

Lesa1211 HB User