It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autoimmune Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2011, 12:04 PM   #1
(female)

Hyjynx HB User
Difficulty Reaching Diagnosis

I seeking opinions for a somewhat complicated medical situation I've been facing for many years. I'm hoping someone reading this may have some knowledge or experience to share, as I'm trying to work with my doctor to reach a diagnosis.

I just turned 26 and since I was roughly 13 I've been plagued with various health issues. Since I was 13 I've often had routine blood work done (CBC) and I can almost always expect to hear my iron and/or B12 levels are critically low. For quite a while my diet was suspect, so changes were made, but they never helped. Once I was 16, my doctor started giving me regular iron and/or B12 injections which seemed to help with the general fatigue.

When I was 17, my doctor diagnosed suspected my mother had Lupus, but ultimately diagnosed her with Fibromyalgia. The same year, he daignosed me with Fibromyalgia. I've suffered unusual muscle pain and weakness for a couple of years at this point, which I call unusual due to being so young.

A couple of years ago, my doctor and I started exploring other avenues, as Multiple Sclerosis had become suspect. I went to see a Neurologist who said he couldn't confirm a diagnosis of MS as my MRI had no lesions present - but he also told me, that at my age, it's possible to have MS and still not have any lesions present yet. The Neurologist referred me to a Rheumatologist. The Rheumatologist suspected that, in addition to Fibromyalgia, I may have Rheumatoid Arthritis. After a couple of visits, he suspected RA was not my issue, but Fibromyalgia was definitely present.