It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autoimmune Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-29-2012, 08:00 PM   #1
(female)

Margaret5 HB User
Thyroid Rash - need relief

I have had a rash on my abdomen, forearms, neck and legs for four weeks. Dr. took blood and said that I have an under active thyroid today. I most likely will be put on synthroid. But for now, I am looking for any recommendations for relief for this rash. I have tried coritzone creams, pine tar soap, zinc oxide diaper rash ointment, benadryl and now I am taking Xanax to help me sleep at night. I am a teacher and it is so hard to not want to itch all day. I am desperate for relief from this rash.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-22-2012, 08:40 AM   #2
(female)

cottonsocks HB User
Re: Thyroid Rash - need relief

Quote:
Originally Posted by Margaret5 View Post
I have had a rash on my abdomen, forearms, neck and legs for four weeks. Dr. took blood and said that I have an under active thyroid today. I most likely will be put on synthroid. But for now, I am looking for any recommendations for relief for this rash. I have tried coritzone creams, pine tar soap, zinc oxide diaper rash ointment, benadryl and now I am taking Xanax to help me sleep at night. I am a teacher and it is so hard to not want to itch all day. I am desperate for relief from this rash.
Do you still have the rash? Have you since had a punch biopsy of the rash? If you still have it I can maybe give you some tips or advice to ease the intense itching.
Sometimes it is just a viral infection, and it will eventually go away, usually in about 6 weeks, but it can in some cases be much longer. It could also be an autoimmune skin condition, (maybe triggered by the symptoms responsible for the underactive thyroid).
Only people who have the inherited faulty gene PREDISPOSING them to ever having an autoimmune reaction, can actually have one.