It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autoimmune Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-19-2012, 12:13 PM   #1
(female)

katiejasper HB User
Sick and SO scared it's ALS

Hi everyone

I am a 32 year old female with very strange symptoms for the last 2.5 months. I have an almost 3 year old and a 4 month old, so life has been pretty busy the last few months.

A week before christmas my left thumb began twitching. Figured it was from computer use (I'm a designer) or from holding my colicky baby for hours a day. Then after a few glasses of champagne on New Years Eve, I woke up New Years day achy from head to toe, with twitching all over and nauseous. Felt like the worst flu I've ever had. This lasted weeks with a trip to the hospital after 5 days. They diagnosed me with "exhaustion" and dehydration pumped me full of fluids. Did some blood tests and told me to get some rest and eat. Symptoms just kept getting worse and was very tired and achy. My left thumb and right quad began feeling weak and the twitching continued on those areas as well as all over. Legs, arms and even back. I was hopeful that it was just BFS and a bad flu. A trip to the doctor for more blood work. All seemed ok. She tested for calcium, mag, thyroid, b12, CRP etc...did a quick neuro test etc.

Another trip to the doctor as my right calf appeared smaller than the left. I brought up my concern with ALS and she said it's very rare and i'm too young, but referred me to a MS neuro.