It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autoimmune Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-18-2013, 11:04 PM   #1
(female)

Ivorygirl HB UserIvorygirl HB UserIvorygirl HB UserIvorygirl HB UserIvorygirl HB UserIvorygirl HB User
Newbie Here Who Needs Help Figuring Things Out...

Hi all

I am 53 years old and have had Degenerative Disc Disease of L4-L5, L5-S1 with Osteoarthritis since the age of 27.

I have been on disability and on anti-inflammatory meds, skelaxin (a muscle relaxant) when needed for flare-ups with nerve involvement, and hydrcodone for pain which I have been taking when necessary for pain and sleep.

A few weeks ago I had what appeared to be some type of allergic reaction....my lower lip had swelled up and took some Benadryl and it went down. The next day my upper lip swelled significantly more than the lower, about the same time as previous day.

GP put me on Allegra and told me to stop all meds until we figured out what was going on and referred me to an allergist.

Long story short, the allergist began by doing lots of bloodwork and some abnormalities came back suggestive that I may have some type of autoimmune disorder and referred to see a rheumatologist.

Bloodwork shows the following:

Elevated ANA !:180 with nucleolar pattern.
Elevated C3 ~ 192
Elevated Complement Total (CH50 ~ >60

Rh, ESR and all allergy testing was all normal

Vitamin D Total was 28 and I was given a script to take 50,000 IU every week for 8 weeks and have that repeated.

As far as symptoms go, over past year I have had increased pain in back, knees, and feet as well as body. I am also very tired, feel as if I never get enough sleep and need a nap each day. If I do anything such as go out to do one errand I feel as if I need to have a nap right away.

Also feel as if I am more forgetful and "fogged"....thought it was the meds but since being off of them this persists.