It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2003, 01:18 PM   #1

jacktip HB User
T-9 compression fracture

I've had a T-9 compression fracture since June and it doesn't seem to be healing....still have a lot of pain and am taking Darvocet every 3 hours. It helps dull the pain but I still feel like a semi invalid; at least I'm still able to get out of bed and function albeit like an old man. Has anyone any experience with this type fracture and how long it should take to heal; also what is the best drug for pain. I realize after reviewing some of the threads on this board that I'm lucky compared to the problems a lot of you face but I still hurt and would like to get better. Thanks for any input. Jack

Old 11-24-2003, 07:01 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

carol632 HB User
Re: T-9 compression fracture

Jack, I have no experience with your problem, but this is my thoughts on the pain issue. If you have been taking darvocet since June, it probably no longer gives adequate relief. Have you discussed with your doctor other possible mean of obtaining relief, such as injections? Hopefully, someone will come along who can advise you more thoroughly. Good luck to you.
Carol

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-25-2003, 11:09 AM   #3
(female)

FriarJen83 HB User

Hi! I know exactly what you're talking about. I have compression fractures at T6,T7,and T8 and it's been about 14 months now, and I still have constant pain.
Doctors told me that they heal on their own within a few months but that has definitely not been the case for me. I dont know if you've talked to a doctor about surgery but there is a simple surgery where they inject a material into the collapsed vertebrae and it causes it to regain its lost height. I can find you more info if you want.