It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-28-2003, 09:31 PM   #1
(female)

ribbit HB User
Question New and needing help...

Hi everyone! I'm new here and feeling kind of helpless about my stupid back. I am 24 years old and have had a discectomy on L4/5 (on my 23rd birthday). Six months after this surgery I had to have hip surgery for torn cartilage. I seem to be going back and forth between these two parts of my body and have gotten in a viscous cycle.

I would like to say to everyone out there... hang in there and keep your chin up! This back stuff can really get to you. I majored in exercise science in undergrad and have been planning on going to physical therapy school in the fall but can't seem to will my spine to get better. I really feel that my "calling" is to do physical therapy with pediatrics. I just don't know how to get there...

I just had a discogram and things didn't go too well. It showed that I have herniations at L3/4, a recurrent herniation at L4/5 (the one that has already been operated on) and a herniation at L5/S1. I briefly talked with the doctor who did the discogram whom I respect very highly. They are doing an ENG this week to see how much, if any, nerve damage I have from all of this. For the first time since all of these back problems started, I am really scared. Scared that this is it and things won't get better. Fusion has been mentioned but I keep hearing "You're too young." I agree but my young age doesn't seem to help me hurt less or become more functional.

Does anyone have any advice? Or maybe a good experience with anything? Is anyone a physical therapist and do you think my aspiration to do peds PT is unrealistic? I have been refusing to beileve this, but I am starting to get discouraged. I would greatly appreciate any advice!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-29-2003, 12:13 AM   #2