It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2003, 07:57 PM   #1

Big Frank HB User
Botox injection info?

My Neurologist wants to give me Botox for lower back pain. Has anyone had this done?

I had a Laminectomy, L4-L5 in 99. I've had problems ever since. I'm 6 foot six, 250 pounds.

I have a bulging disc at L3-L4 now that's pressing on the nerve root along with DDD and the stuff is creeping up to my neck and shoulders. I'm a heavy Equipment Mechanic, OUCH.

I take Lortab, Elavil, and Celebrex

Thanks,

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-10-2003, 09:43 PM   #2
Inactive

out2lunch HB User
Re: Botox injection info?

Hi, welcome to the board!! I also have bulging discs with DDD etc. in my lumbar as well as my neck!! I have had botox injections in the lumbar area and it was the worst I've ever had done in the 7yrs I've been dealing with CP!!
I'd hate to be the one to stop anyone from aquiring adequate pain relief, but I can't not tell you what happened to me!
It was my pain management dr that gave me the injections but he's suppose specialize in many other fields as well, such as aneastetics (sp?) etc. So I don't know if having a neuro do it, would have better results! You may want to find out just how many he's done and how many had bad results first!!
I found out that my pm dr had had two failures but had done hundreds of these, and I thought it was worth a shot if it meant I'd be pain free for Christmas and I'd never know if it was the answer I'd been looking for til I tried it!
He wanted to inject my head, neck, lumbar and hips, but I was still nervous about having it done! So I agreed to let him inject the lumbar only to see if it would work, (lumbar's the worst of my pain)!