It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2004, 11:48 AM   #1

ninja22 HB User
Can disc cause abdominal pain?

I am 36M with degerative herniated disc at L4-L5. For about a month now, I have been experiencing lots of pain on my left hip area along with my usual back & sciatic pain. Coincidentally, I'm having some sharp abdominal pain about 2 inches left to my bellybutton. Has anyone experienced this? Should I be worried that this abdominal pain is a separate issue from my back & hip pain?

Old 02-02-2004, 12:01 PM   #2

QOD HB User
Re: Can disc cause abdominal pain?

I was a student at a college for registered massage therapy, and was taught various orthopedic tests to determine the cause/source of pain... but do not take my word as law, please see your dr.

The spot you describe as causing you pain... I know of as Baer's sacroiliac point. It is tender/sore when touched when a person has a sacroiliac lesion or spasms in your iliacus muscles. (in your lower back). As the injury you have is lumbar, and therefore very close to your sacroiliac region, it MAY be related.

I don't know if this of much help to you though.

This is by no means a diagnosis of your pain, just an idea as to its cause. I would ask your dr about this.

Take care and good luck to you.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-02-2004, 12:09 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

successtory HB User

Hi Ninja22 and welcome

Other pains is common with back problems as all nerves going to the legs run through the lumbar & sacral regions. Back to legs--must go through hips. In fact, that is exactly where these nerves go....right next and around the joint where the femur (leg bone) meets the illiac crest (hip bone). So hip pain is common as well as buttox pain, leg pain (running down the backs or outsides)...calf and/or shin pain....soles of feet or top of foot pain.