It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2004, 11:34 AM   #1

coles mom HB User
Unhappy Nerve blocks and "conscious sedation"...question

I am new to this particular board here and very glad that I found it. Monday I am going for a nerve block with my PM dr. I was told that he would be using "conscious sedation". *I* was under the impression that meant that I wouldn't really know what was going on but I would be awake (for all practicaly purposes). But my cousin, who also attends the same clinic, said that she was under what is called "conscious sedation" and she was FULLY aware of what was going on and that it was quite painful.

I am scared to death. My back hurts bad enough as it is and I am so afraid something is going to go wrong or that it won't work or it will make it worse. It doesn't help matters that I can't eat after midnight on Sunday and my procedure isn't until 2 or 3 p.m.! We also have a 2 hour drive/ride to and from the hospital. (which my husband will be driving)

Can anyone tell me their experience with "conscious sedation"? I have a history of being EXTREMELY non sensative to pain meds and drugs that make you sleepy. Generally it takes more anesthesia to put me to sleep for surgeries than most (normal) people. I just have a high tolerance. I am really frightened.

Help?

Julie

Old 02-13-2004, 11:51 AM   #2
Inactive

Pippin HB User
Re: Nerve blocks and "conscious sedation"...question

Julie,

I have had 5 epidurals/transforaminals in the lumbar area, all under "conscious sedation," which I believe is Versed. I slept soundly through each of the procedures and had NO memory of anything. They will start an IV on you before the procedure, and the anesthesia is administered that way.