It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-05-2003, 02:09 PM   #1
Inactive

eris619 HB User
Question Work after a lumbar fusion??

Hello. I had a 2 level fusion L4-L5, L5-S1 done about 2 weeks ago. I had my post-op check up with my doctor and he says that people can return to work in 2 months. Does this sound too soon to anyone else? I am a Registered Nurse and this seems crazy to me...Is there anybody out there with some advice/experience on returning to work after this operation? Thanks!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-05-2003, 03:07 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

MarianJ HB User
Hello Eris,

Welcome to the Healthboards. I also had fusion surgery on the same levels. Prior to my surgery my surgeon told me that I could not return to work to at least 3 months. I said OK but since I don't work, I don't foresee that being a problem. Then he realized he goofed when getting me confused with another patient. I have heard of some people returning to work then and some people just can't. It all depends on your recovery and so much depends on what type of work you will be returning to. Also when returning you will have to take things very slow and might have to start off working part time. I see that you are an RN and that would require long hours and being on your feet. I would just listen to your body and only do what you think you are capable of doing. Please don't over do things and take the time you need to recover. I really wish you a successful recovery.

Take Care

------------------
[b]Cervical[/b] MRI 10/02
Loss of cervical lordosis with reversal of the curvature.
C4-5 and C6-7 disc bulges resulting in flattening of the ventral margin of the cord.
C5-6 there is a left foraminal herniation which results in moderate foraminal stenosis In addition, there is flattening of the ventral margin of the cord due to bulging disc.