It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2004, 04:50 AM   #1

wedrivethebox HB User
Arrow Newbie Here: Lumbar Disc Protrusion?

Hi everyone. Just yesterday my doctor called and told me I have 3 Lumbar Disc Protrusions at L3, L5, & S1.

He wants me to go see a neurosurgeon. I am very overweight 6"0 375lbs and only 28 years old. Needless to say, this is a major wakeup call for me.

I am thinking if I can lose the weight, these back problems/leg pain will subside.

Does anybody else have this problem with the disc protrusions? It started about 2 weeks ago when I drove my parents around while visiting Oregon. I drove 3-4 hours periods with my leg cramped up against the console.

I have never had any problems before so I am very nervous but yet want to understand everything as well.

Thanks

Wade

Last edited by wedrivethebox; 08-12-2004 at 04:50 AM.

Old 08-12-2004, 05:01 AM   #2
Veteran
(male)

scotty12 HB User
Re: Newbie Here: Lumbar Disc Protrusion?

wade,
conservative treatment should make things much better for you.lose weight,physical therapy,stretching daily,anti-inflamatory meds.

i have similar issues along with spinal instability warranting a 2 level fusion surgery.in the first year i lost about 25 lbs and exersized atleast 5 days a week along with stretching daily.muscle tightness comes with lumbar problems so stretching your hamstrings and other muscles is a very important
part of conservative treatment.

i wouldnt rush to a surgeon just yet.has your doctor sent you for physical therapy yet?
your too young to have surgery unless all conservative treatments fail and you are still suffering.welcome and good luck.......scotty

Last edited by scotty12; 08-12-2004 at 05:01 AM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-12-2004, 06:38 AM   #3
Inactive

out2lunch HB User