It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-13-2004, 07:30 PM   #1

jnjwood1995 HB User
Second discectomy

I am scheduled for a second surgery on the 20th of August. I am wondering about the recovery. Has anyone had this done twice? I have been told that the second time may not be as easy to recover from as the first. Is this true? I am a teacher and am wondering just how long I will have to be out. It is for the L5-S1. That seems to be the board favorite. I wonder why this disc is so easily injured. I have no idea how it even happend this time. Please fill me in on the recovery process. I had the first surgery 2 and a half years ago, the recovery then was so quick and easy. I was walking a mile a night 2 weeks after. I am hopeful for the same type of situation.

Jennifer

Old 08-13-2004, 09:36 PM   #2
Veteran

standingman HB User
Re: Second discectomy

Jennifer--I can't be informative about all you ask, but the reason the lowest disks (5/1 and 4/5) get in the most trouble is because they are at the base of the spine, and thus have the most weight on them, supporting all the others. Still, there are exceptions, including me whose biggest problem is at L 2/3.

Regarding second surgeries, I believe there is more concern about scar tissue complicating the outcome, but this is an excellent question for your surgeon, needless ot say.

All the best with it,

Standingman

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-14-2004, 04:38 AM   #3
(male)

bufitfn HB User