It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-15-2004, 11:03 AM   #1
(male)

wmcgowin HB User
I want non-surgical success stories-any?

Hi all. I am 41 years old, in good shape, but have a herniated disk between L4/L5 with sciatica. My ortho put me on mobic, PT, and pain meds, and I have had epidurals (please, no lectures). My question is this-

I have been doing this for 5 months, and althoough I feel a little better, I am far from healed. Who out there has had success without surgery? All I seem to see here are people with fusions, laminectomies, etc. I am very apprehensive about surgery, and want to avoid it. But I don't want to wait too long, and risk too much nerve damage, etc. How long should I wait before calling my friendly neurosurgeon?

This is really aggravating, so any input would be helpful.

Old 08-15-2004, 04:31 PM   #2

Voguegirl HB User
Re: I want non-surgical success stories-any?

Yes I have one! Unfortunately it's not mine but I'm hoping. My cousin has pretty much fully recovered from a L5-S1 herniation. Her ortho was reluctant to resort to surgery or epidurals. It took 8 months before she got back to work but she is fine now, provided she keeps up her walking and exercise programme. She was left with some numbness in her foot but she says it serves as a good reminder of what is a condition for life.

I have a similar problem, combined with DDD and an annular tear. I've just had my third epidural (fully informed and having read the Burton report) and was thankful that I did. I've been off work for the last five months. My ortho is not advocating surgery as the odds of more damage are too high.