It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2004, 04:09 PM   #1
(male)

wmcgowin HB User
Pain Question-am I grasping for straws?

Hi all-

Herniated disk L4/L5 with sciatic pain here (sometimes it's easier to identify myself by my injury). I have a question. Now, my pain can be controlled by me if I sit the right way, or stand the right way. In other words, if the nerve flares up (or whatever it is that causes the pain), and I sit quietly, in the right way, I can make the pain stop (or at least decrease to where it's tolerable). For example, I had to get dressed (the pain afterwards was awful), but after sitting for 10 minutes or so, the pain almost disappeared. Is this common? I have been fighting this for 6 months now, and I HOPE that this is a sign of progress (may be wishful thinking). I am getting frustrated by what I feel is a lack of progress, and am trying to avoid the knife. So I am hoping for any sign of progress.

Any thoughts would be very helpful. Thanks in advance.

Old 08-17-2004, 05:32 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

carol632 HB User
Re: Pain Question-am I grasping for straws?

Some conditions are relieved by certain positions. For instance, people with stenosis often find that leaning on a cart while grocery shopping relives their pain. An MRI is about the only way you will know if the herniation has receded.

Good luck and take care.
Carol
morphine pump

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-18-2004, 12:13 AM   #3

Jenna'sMom HB User

w,
Are you in physical Therapy? They might be able to give you exercised and stretches that will stave off the pain longer, since you are responding to positioning your body in certain ways to alleviate the pain. Just a thought. Herniation is not my problem, so I'm not really familiar with how the symptoms feel. Good luck.

Take Care,
Jenna's Mom

APLIF T4-S1 on july 19, 2004