It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2004, 11:26 PM   #1
Veteran
(female)

TexasWildRose04 HB User
Unhappy Supposed to get ESI...Success and failure stories wanted... Please?

Hey guys... I go Sept 8th for a consultation about getting a Epidural Steroid Injection.... I would like to have success stories and failure stories... see which outweighs the other... also cause I am kinda freaked about getting it done... have heard bad things about them... but Neuro and Ortho both say I should have it....Let me hear from ya'll... Please??

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-29-2004, 04:08 AM   #2

Voguegirl HB User
Re: Supposed to get ESI...Success and failure stories wanted... Please?

Hi Texas

I suppose I have some experience in this area - having had three ESIs! I have a significant central bulge at L5-S1, with DDD and an annular tear. The first one gave me good pain relief. As this was the first real pain relief I'd obtained, I thought I was cured and did too much too soon. A bad plan! I ended up immobile and in despair. My consultant advised a second one and it really made a difference - I was able to begin exercising, I could sleep again and I was able to cut back on my meds. However sitting and standing were still very painful so I went for my third three weeks ago. That hasn't made any difference and my pain has worsened. I'm back for an MRI on Wednesday and my ortho thinks that the bulge may have increased as my sciatica has worsened and I have constant numbness in my foot. He has mentioned surgery which I am reluctant to have and I'll definitely go for a second opinion.