It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2004, 04:46 AM   #1

swryan HB User
You folks are scaring me!

I'm new to this so please help if you can. I don't have this terrible pain that is common here. No leg pain but back goes out often. I have DDD with bulging discs at l5-s1 & l3-4. I can still work and still exercise (swimming and cardio machines). Problem is I can no longer run, golf or ski. Bending and sitting has gotten worse the past 2 years. Pain is all in the lower back. I'm only 2 years removed from marathon running and I just don't want to give up on activities yet. Fusion has been suggested by docter but should I consider this or just stop whinning and suck it up.

Thanks

Old 10-19-2004, 05:49 AM   #2

lynns HB User
Re: You folks are scaring me!

you dont need to ignore it and suck it up. ddd is a real problem that shouldnt be ignored, also your bulging disc can or cannot be impinging on a nerve. we cant tell you to have surgery only you can make that desicion. but as you marrathons you need to slow down and think about the consiquences if you dont. it can become worse because you chose to ignore the pain and problem.most of us on this board wish we hadnt ignored it and went on and sucked it up. we are living with that and its our faults. dont be another one who will be in pain later on in life and regreating not listening to your body.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-19-2004, 07:47 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

Rhonni HB User

It's time for surgery only when the pain and problem cause you to alter the quality of your life. You will know when you've had enough. If you are comfortable with medications and therapeutic approaches, then I would say it's not time for surgery.
If you and others around you find that you are no longer the person you once were, then it's time to re-evaluate how you want to proceed.