It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2004, 06:53 AM   #1
(female)

dpaz HB User
Here I go with another Myelogram

I've posted on here a few times before, but not very often. I have been having problems with my lower back for about a year now. I had the normal work up, MRI, Myelogram, ESI. I seemed to do better for awhile. I am a correctional officer and changed prisons and the one I'm at now, I work days and am on my feet for 8 hours straight. They don't even give us a place to sit. Anyway, in July on one of my shifts, I had to open a VERY large gate (semi trucks pass through it). It's on 2 very small wheels near the front of the gate. I felt my back pull and pop and was immediately in pain, and stiffened up in a matter of a few minutes. I have not been back to work since July 13th. But Worker's comp of course says I did not hurt myself at work because they know of the preexisting problem. Anyway, their doc said it was directly related to pulling the gate, they still controverted only 6 days after the accident. I finally got a lawyer to take my case and says he can win it. I've had to use my own insurance (which now is cancelled for non-payment due to being out of work). THe neurosurgeon I visited in March says I aggravated it and now I go for another day of fun known as the myelogram. I have been told they will still do it even with no insurance and the doc will see me for a follow up afterwards. I can really really empathize with those going through this with workers comp. We had to go start bankruptcy proceedings yesterday or we would lose our vehicle. Oh well, life's not all bad, I have a great husband and 2 wonderful sons who are 11 an 13. I thank God for my family. Please, all of you take care and try not to dwell on all the bad things that can happen, because I'm sure we all still have so much to be thank