It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2005, 09:18 AM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

Rhonni HB User
Quick Quick Quick.... need advice

Hi gang...need your input on this one.

I have lost my job, due to being off since June. (Worked there 6 years). I'm still interviewing with my old company to try to go back, but now I have an interview outside of the company. It's with an agency.

They have asked why I want to leave my company. I told them (over the phone) that the company is laying off (true) and that my position now has a lot of things in it of which I have no experience (also true).

Do I mention to the agency (or other potential prospects) that I have been off on disability and my company released my job? Can my company tell them that information if they call to check references?

I'm a forward/honest type and don't want to lie, but I don't want to screw myself out of a job either.

Any advice?
Thanks
Hunni

Old 01-18-2005, 09:36 AM   #2
Veteran
(female)

StMishl HB User
Re: Quick Quick Quick.... need advice

Tx Hunni-
Speaking as an Human Resources person here (at least I was-we'll see if I go back)...

Most companies will just comfirm your dates of work and what you did and rather or not you are eligible for rehire, anything else can open them up for a lawsuit. If you have a "friendly" supervisor who will speak best about you (not that they ALL wouldn't , give THAT person as your reference, or have that person write a letter of reference for you to take to your interview, saying in glowing terms how sad they were to let you go, NOT mentioning your disability).

Additionally, questions about disability are limited to rather or not you are physically and mentally capable of doing the job... that is ALL, anything else gets into the realm of the disability act, a BIG