It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2005, 04:02 PM   #1
Veteran
(male)

jayboy557 HB User
need advice asking doc for different meds

i've been taking hydro 10/325 for a year now. it just isn't as effective. i have to take more and that scares me. i've heard that percocet might be a little stronger and might mix it up and give me some relief without taking so much. is percocet that much harder to get. i have a torn disc per the discogram. he knows i'm in pain. would it be appropriate to ask and is percocet going to be stronger. is it work it. please help, jayboy

Old 01-26-2005, 04:49 PM   #2
(female)

Valley HB User
Smile Re: need advice asking doc for different meds

I'm no expert on pain meds, but I would think that after a period of time that any meds would not be as effective. Tell your doctor that it isn't helping like it should and ask about percocet.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-26-2005, 05:19 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

Rhonni HB User
Re: need advice asking doc for different meds

you need to use that exact paragraph and ask your doctor the same way.

Old 01-27-2005, 08:10 AM   #4
(female)

PeachJam HB User

Is Hydro the only med that you are on? Different meds work on different pathways. For example Ibuprofen and Tylenol work differently in the brain so it is best to take both. Valley is correct after a certain time period your body builds up a resistance to the medication, however I am not certain if hydro initially helped you or if this is recent.

The other issue may be what type of dr is responsible for meds. Is it a PM or a surgeon? Each typically has very different approaches to medication. There are tons of different meds out there and yes that are all at different levels with different DEA requirements but if you tell you dr that the meds are not working they should immediately change them.