It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2005, 07:25 AM   #1
(male)

dckatz2001 HB User
Thoughts on Returning to Work After Surgery

How long are people usually home from work after back surgery? I know the time varies by person and procedure but I'm wondering if there's an average? I had a two level TLIF surgery on January 5 of this year. My doctor originally told me I would be home for six weeks. I am planning to return to work on February 21 but I'm not sure I'll be ready by then. I was thinking I would go back part-time for the first week so I could build up my stamina. I work as a Systems Administrator and my job is fairly light duty.

I am doing pretty well now. I stopped using my walker at the week and a half mark. I am still wearing my back brace about half of the day. I can do everything for myself including putting on my own shoes and socks (which I originally thought I'd never be able to do, lol). I still have pain, the worst of which is in the morning when I first get out of bed. It takes me a long time to get up in the morning. I am 28 years old and this is my second back surgery. My first was a discectomy in 1999.

Any thoughts on this are appreciated.

Thank you.

DC

Last edited by dckatz2001; 02-03-2005 at 07:26 AM.

Old 02-03-2005, 08:05 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Jessie1 HB User
Re: Thoughts on Returning to Work After Surgery