It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-28-2005, 12:49 AM   #1
(female)

RosieCheeks HB User
Any Advice Appreciated

Hi Everyone, WOW this group is awesome! I am new to this whole thing, and have no experience, so any advice is truly appreciated. My boyfriend and I were run off the interstate by a semi back in January. We rolled the car going 60 MPH, and ended upside down. (Ironically I was on my way to my first physical therapy session from another accident where a drunk driver hit me about 5 years ago). I have a bulging disc at L5-S1 which is pressing on my sciatic nerve causing pain down my right leg. Now with this new accident, I have bulging discs at T12-L1, L1-2, L4-5. At C3-4 there is a small transverse annular tear anteriorly. There is mild bilateral uncinate process hypertrophy and -raminal enroachment. (Sorry, the MRI readout isn't clear) At C5-6 there is a 6-mm right/left, 3 mm anterior-posterior right paracentral protrusion which causes effacement of the right anterior subarachnoid space and is in contact with the right C6 root. At the C6-7 level there is a central to left disc protrusion which is shallow, 2 to 3 MM. It measures 6mm right/left. It impinges on the left C7 root. I am undergoing ultrasound and emg treatments for pain, and the doc is talking about doing an epidural if I don't improve. I have also had cervical traction treatments. I really like my doctor, so far he has been very good. I know everyone responds differently to injuries and therapies, and I was wondering if anyone here has had any of these injuries, and if so, what has been the outcome? Has anyone with these injuries been abble to qualify for SSI/disability? What medications have helped? I am currently taking ultram for pain, however it makes me dizzy so I can't drive. I am also diabetic, and have arthritis in my back too, if that