It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2005, 04:34 AM   #1
(female)

fritosander HB User
Sciatica - next step

I've had some bad experiences with many treatments that I've tried for my sciatica. I was hoping that some of you with experience with sciatica, could make a suggestion for the next step.

My sciatica is worse when I sit or stand for long periods of time, bend or twist, lift heavy objects, put pressure on the back or bottom of my left buttock, and strangely enough wear pants or jeans with a waste band that is too tight (does anyone else experience this?).

It was misdiagnosed for about a year and a half, and I'm not sure that it is correctly diagnosed still.

I've had a discectomy at L4/L5, a breast-reduction surgery, lots of ESI's (little foggy on how many, but I think 3-4 rounds of 3-4 injections each time), deep-tissue massage, electro stimulation, chiropracty, physical therapy and daily stretches, and nerve-regeneration drugs. The discectomy didn't help. The breast-reduction surgery helped me to be able to do the motions required to do the dishes for example. The ESI's helped, but I felt like I was going through menopause when I was on them (cold sweats - anyone else experience this?). I was usually worse after chriopracty. I did feel some relief after several months of deep-tissue massage, electro stimulation, and the nerve-regeneration drugs, but I don't know if it was the treatments or that time and reduced activity healed it. The deep-tissue massage left bruises and I was in more pain for a few days afterward than I was before I went to my treatments. When I feel the pain coming on, walking on uneven surfaces like a trail helps, but not if it is too bad. (I theorize that it stretches many more different muscles than walking on even ground would and doesn't involve repetive motion.)