It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2005, 03:39 PM   #1
(female)

girl12345 HB User
Laminectomy/ discectomy and school!

I have another question about the laminectomy/ discectomy recovery. I am still waiting to get a third opinion about surgery and I am scheduled for a discogram in two weeks. I was wondering what the average time to be able to go back to class after a discectomy. I start classes three weeks after my discogram and if I am going to get the surgery, I will not have much time to recover. I live an hour away from the school so I will be driving a lot. Also, I do not want to miss a semester if I have could help it. i was told my one surgeon that I could go to class after a week, but that sounds kind of soon. Any advice would be helpful.

Also, how long before it would be safe to go back to work? I work as a cashier and have to lift somewhat heavy items. So far I have not had to take much time off for my back except for a day here and there and a week after the car accident. Thanks for your thoughts.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-15-2005, 06:08 PM   #2
Veteran
(female)

TexasWildRose04 HB User
Re: Laminectomy/ discectomy and school!