It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2006, 07:37 PM   #1
Veteran
(male)

jayboy557 HB User
job interview while still taking prescription pain meds

can they not hire me when they detect opiates in my pee test. its a very good job. i was a police officer before my surgery and still suffer from neck problems.

what could they do even though my prescription is legal. has anyone had this problem. i really can't function without medication.

please respond if you know or have dealt with this. jayboy

Old 01-10-2006, 07:46 PM   #2
(male)

360fusion HB User
Cool Re: job interview while still taking prescription pain meds

hello well how does your body respond to the pain killers, i mean when i first started taking them 2 years ago i was falling asleep at the wheel etc.. that was real scary and i stopped driving due to this, this went on for about a month and then my body must have got used to it, and now i can function fine as far as there is no dizzyness, ect... i dont think the employer can legally not hire you because you are taking a perscribed painkiller, but some employers are shisty and if they dont want you because they feel that there is a risk to them of a law suit ect due to you being on meds then they will make up some excuse not to hire you. like the position has been filled, we are looking for someone with more experiance, you know what i mean.. there are many laws that say that an employer has to abide by in regards to employment but there are many ways around this and they know them all. well i wish you luck on your job and hope you get it, good luck...

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-10-2006, 08:28 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

Kari7171 HB User
Re: job interview while still taking prescription pain meds