It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2006, 02:06 PM   #1
(female)

Fiesty47 HB User
Wink anterior posterior lumbar decompression and Fusion L5s1

Hi
I am 47 and by the end of the week I will be having an anterior/posterial lumbar decompression and fusion L5S1. Can anyone tell me what life will be life for the first couple of weeks home from the hospital? How long of a hostpital stay will I have? I was also wondering will I be ready to teach starting August 23? I know everything is fine and I have a great doctor but I am a bit nervous. Any feedback postive or not will be helpful. As a teacher I beleive the more information I have the less afrain I will be. Thanks

Old 07-01-2006, 06:28 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

zeroman HB User
Re: anterior posterior lumbar decompression and Fusion L5s1

everyone is different so your experience will be different from mine.

I had a double fusion from the front 11 days agio (see sig) and I can tell you what I am going through.

you will be in the hospital probably 4-5 days (I was in for 6) and the front incision will still be sore when you get home (it still is but not as bad). youll have good drugs in the hospital so its not too bad. about the 3rd day I had fairly bad gas and cramps as my digestive system woke up. they lasted less than a day and the best thing you can do for them is walk it off. the more you walk the better off youll be. theyll have you walking the 2nd day most likely.

walking was fine, its just transitioning from lying down to getting up that hurt. once up I walked all over.. I explored my little corner of the hospital at least 4 times a day for 10-15 minutes each time and I felt better after walking.