It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2006, 07:23 AM   #1
(male)

kato_cat69 HB User
Question L-4-L5: What should I expect?

I'm a semi-newbie here. I'm having a L-4-L5 lumbar laminectomy and foraminotomy next week. What shoud I expect in the way of pain, recovery time, post op foods? Will I be able to walk and go back to work in a few days? Will I have pain the rest of my life from the surgery?...EEEK! I know nothing about this and my doc wasn't very helful. From what I read on the net I'm getting nervous. Would be thankful for any input you can offer.......

Old 10-19-2006, 07:43 AM   #2
Inactive
(male)

shawley HB User
Re: L-4-L5: What should I expect?

kato , your in for a real treat , I'll put it to you in truth, it's painful and you'll be off work for a few months , UNLESS you have a job where you can sit and take it easy you might be back in a few weeks. Food ? Man I can eat anything anytime , had no problem with food. Sitting down getting up rolling over was hard for a few weeks ,but all in all it's not to bad..lol When you go to sit on the toilet it's hard ,and I had to have my wife (GODBLESS her) wipe my butt because I couldn't bend to reach it. I had a fusion the same time as my Laminectomy so maybe that made it worse ? I do think removing lamina from your spine is harder on you than the fusion itself. I had 3 surgeries total on my spine and the laminectomy I thought was the hardest and most painful.

Sorry If I scare you ,but it's the truth..Good luck

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-19-2006, 08:09 AM   #3
(male)

Coast Guard Dad HB User