It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2006, 08:49 PM   #1
(female)

mm78 HB User
Help! Surgery caused permanent nerve damage -- should I sue?

Hi Everyone,

I had a microdiscectomy at L5/S1 about 1.5 years ago. The surgeon (one of the best in the country) said it was the largest herniation he had ever seen.

Immediately following the surgery, I lost feeling in my leg from the butt down to the toes, and it has never recovered or come back in any way. I understand that it takes a long time to heal the nerve, and the surgeon said the cause might have been that the herniation was so large that damage was done to the nerve when he was trying to get to the disc.

I walk with a limp and cannot stand on the toes on my right foot. I have no muscle left in my calf or glutes. I have had to turn down jobs (I am a documentary/ travel producer for the Discovery Channel) because I am physically unable to do what I used to be able to do.

I don't know what to do. I have moved on as best I can, but I still wonder how I could be the 1 in 1000 that has permanent damage, and was there anything that can be done for the fact that I have had to change careers. I'm 35 years old and it good shape, except for the leg, which is an embarrassment and source of frustration.

I would truly appreciate any advice or similar experiences -- it has been virtually impossible for me to find anyone in my situ.

- Monica

Old 11-06-2006, 11:27 PM   #2
Veteran
(female)

legallyblondied HB User
Re: Help! Surgery caused permanent nerve damage -- should I sue?